Many clear solutions are still missing in the law of blockchain applications. The new legal handbook entitled “Blockchain rules” (published by MANZ) tackles fundamental classification issues, questions of legal protection and EU law for the first time.

The book covers a wide range of detailed questions and areas of law that are relevant for end-users. The systematically developed solutions, illustrated by numerous examples, are also aimed at legal professionals, supervisory authorities, courts and academics.

Editors and authors

The handbook is edited by Prof. Dr. Christian Piska, Professor of Constitutional and Administrative Law at the University of Vienna, and Dr. Oliver Völkel, LL.M., Attorney at Law and founding partner of Stadler Völkel Rechtsanwälte – a law firm based in Vienna that specializes in the law of digital assets.

Oliver Völkel on the newly published work: “We see a rapid development in the laws affecting blockchain technology. Our motivation for the legal handbook was to make a contribution to this development. All the more reason for me to be pleased is to see the product of our extensive work after more than two years of preparation”.

What the editors and authors have yet to say about the book is available here: Oliver Völkel, Christian Piska, Thomas Nägele, Leyla Farahmandnia, Andreas Pfeil.

Topics covered

Together with more than 20 other contributors, the authors have compiled articles that deal with the following topics, among others:

  • Digital assets and virtual currencies
  • Smart contracts, mining and forks
  • Tokenization, ICOs & STOs, KYC & AML

The legal handbook refers to EU law, public law, civil law, tax law and supervisory law. It takes into account the new legal situation according to the Prospectus Regulation, the KMG 2019 and the implementation of the 5th Money Laundering Directive in the FM-GwG. In addition to a detailed discussion of the Austrian legal situation, the handbook also contains contributions on the legal situation in Germany, Switzerland and Liechtenstein.

Presentation of the Handbook

The handbook was officially presented on 12 November 2019. The release party was just as successful as the handbook itself. The celebration took place in the office of Stadler Völkel alongside hors d’oeuvres, fresh chestnuts and mulled wine in a festive atmosphere.

Im Recht der Blockchain-Anwendungen werden noch viele klare Lösungen vermisst. Das neue Rechtshandbuch mit dem Titel „Blockchain rules“ (erschienen im MANZ-Verlag) befasst sich erstmals auch mit grundsätzlichen Einordnungsproblemen, Fragen des Rechtsschutzes und des EU-Rechts.

Davon ausgehend wird eine breite Palette an Detailfragen und Rechtsgebieten erschlossen, die für praktische Anwender relevant sind. Die systematisch erarbeiteten und durch zahlreiche Beispiele veranschaulichten Lösungsansätze richten sich an die Anwaltschaft ebenso wie an Behörden, Gerichte und Wissenschaftler.

Herausgeber und Autoren

Herausgeber des Handbuchs sind ao. Univ.-Prof. Dr. Christian Piska, Professor für Staats- und Verwaltungsrecht an der Universität Wien, sowie RA Dr. Oliver Völkel, LL.M., Rechtsanwalt und Gründungspartner der unter anderem auf das Recht digitaler Assets spezialisierten Kanzlei Stadler Völkel mit Sitz in Wien.

Oliver Völkel zum neu erschienenen Werk: „Wir sehen in der rechtswissenschaftlichen Aufarbeitung der Blockchain eine rasante Entwicklung. Unsere Motivation für das Rechtshandbuch war es, zu dieser rechtlichen Aufarbeitung einen Beitrag zu leisten. Umso mehr freut es mich, das umfangreiche Werk nach mehr als zwei Jahren Vorbereitungszeit im Fachhandel zu sehen.

Was die Herausgeber und Autoren noch über das Werk zu berichten haben, kann hier angesehen werden: Oliver Völkel, Christian Piska, Thomas Nägele, Leyla Farahmandnia, Andreas Pfeil.

Behandelte Themen

Gemeinsam mit mehr als 20 weiteren Autoren haben die Herausgeber Beiträge verfasst, die sich unter anderem mit folgenden Aspekten auseinandersetzen:

  • Digitale Assets und virtuelle Währungen
  • Smart Contracts, Mining und Forks
  • Tokenisierung, ICOs & STOs, KYC & AML

Die Darstellung im Rechtshandbuch erfolgt unter Bezugnahme auf EU-Recht, Öffentliches Recht, Zivilrecht, Steuerrecht und Aufsichtsrecht. Es berücksichtigt die neue Rechtslage nach der Prospekt-VO, dem KMG 2019 und die Umsetzung der 5. Geldwäsche-RL im FM-GwG. Neben einer detaillierten Auseinandersetzung mit der österreichischen Rechtslage enthält es auch Beiträge zur Rechtslage in Deutschland, der Schweiz und Liechtenstein.

Vorstellung des Handbuchs

Das Handbuch wurde am 12. November 2019 offiziell vorgestellt. Die Buchpräsentation wurde ebenso modern gestaltet wie das Thema des Handbuchs. In den Räumlichkeiten von Stadler Völkel wurde bei ausgelassener Stimmung neben Horsd’œuvre und frischen Maroni gelesen und gefeiert.